On Being One … And Of The Power Of Ease

Most of us have been led to believe that, when we find “true love”, we will feel:

  • Butterflies
  • A knot in our stomach
  • Sweaty palms
  • Heart palpitations
  • Head over heels

In French, we say “coup de foudre” which literally translates into “lightning bolt”. These are quite powerful words. Without getting into a discussion of the use of the verb “falling” (don’t we always hurt ourselves when we fall?), wouldn’t you agree that these are expressions of chaos? But shouldn’t “love” be easy? Shouldn’t a relationship be easy? Here is my description of an “ideal” relationship:

The relationship that I seek is one of ease. It is easy to feel good. It is easy to feel at peace with myself and with my partner. It is easy to feel as one with myself and with my partner. It is easy to like what I see. It is easy to be of service. It is easy to move through my day. It is easy to be who I am. It is easy to do the work that I want to do. It is easy to be two separate people with two separate intentions through our days. It is easy to be in the relationship. It is easy. It feels comfortable and secure. It feels honest and deep. It feels real and true. It feels like Source and core. It feels soft and gentle. It feels love and being loved. It feels knowing and known. It feels like home. It feels safe and cozy. It feels fun and delicious. It feels passionate. It feels … easy!
(with thanks to Abraham-Hicks)

It is a “prayer”, “mantra”, whatever you wish to call it, that I repeat to myself daily. Feel free to use it if it resonates with you. Feel free to change it, expand it, narrow it, etc., to suit your needs for your “ideal” relationship. Life is meant to be easy and we struggle mightily to make it hard as we focus on what is “wrong” instead of what is “right.” Relationships allow us to discover ourselves: who we are and who we want to be. I know that when I find my partner I will feel at ease. And she will feel the same. I wish you the same.

With love, Jean-Pierre

One ship drives east, and another west
With the self-same winds that blow
‘tis the set of the sails
and not the gales
that decides the way we go
like the winds of the sea are the ways of fate
as they voyage along through life
‘tis the will of the soul
that decides its goal
and not the calm or the strife

Ella Wheeler Wilcox

You can now follow me on HeartWhisper

Leave a Reply

